Ginger Bread Bundt Cakes

IMG_7596Christmas time is a special time of the year, where all things bling and kitsch are totally cool. Around about the beginning of December I start getting this holiday feeling, filled with excitement and the promise of fun. The restaurants are full and festive during lunchtime on weekdays and the change in people’s energy is tangible. This for me is the start of Christmas, the ultimate haaa… its holiday time!

If anything epitomizes the Christmas smell its Ginger bread. The gorgeous sweet syrupy ginger smell permeates my home every December. Look, I wont deny that I am a huge fan of ginger; the warming tingle and distinctly Christmas flavor really gets me into a festive mood

Every year my daughter Avalon and I, who I might add is a better baker than me, bake Christmas shaped ginger biscuits and spend time together decorating them. This year I thought I would try the ginger bread recipe (with a few tweaks) in the form of mini bundt cakes. Great idea, if I may say so myself! The sponge is light and airy and infused with ginger and cinnamon. They are the perfect adult sweetness and sublime with a cup of tea or coffee.

For me Christmas time is for delicious and decadent things, it’s the one month when I allow myself all the culinary Christmas joys, and these darling little ginger bread bundt cakes are no exception.

IMG_7588

Ingredients –

  •  2 cups plain flour
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 3 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 3 tsp. ground ginger
  • 113g room temperature unsalted butter (or stork bake)
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 150ml golden syrup
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup milk

Recipe –

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C
  • Mix the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and ginger in a bowl.
  • In a separate bowl cream the butter and sugar with a hand mixer or processor
  • Add the eggs one at a time until combined
  • Add the syrup and lemon zest
  • Start adding the flour alternating with the milk bit by bit until combined
  • Grease your bundt moulds very well with spray and cook
  • Put 1 x ice – cream scoop of batter into each mini bundt mould
  • Bake in oven for 15 minutes or until the stick comes out clean.
  • Cool on a cooling rack

IMG_7613

Dee’s Notes

  • You could make an icing to drizzle on top with sifted icing sugar and a tiny bit of water and a good pinch of cinnamon
  • Make sure you spray your moulds well with spray and cook
  • If you are not as partial to ginger as I am, then reduce the amount of ginger
  • You can substitute maple syrup with the golden syrup
  • You can use any cake tin instead of the bundt moulds

IMG_7607

 

 

Leave a Reply

