Egg Fried Rice

Egg Fried Rice

IMG_1962

Over the years I have become an ardent fan of this egg fried rice. It’s pleasing on the eye, as well as the tummy. This almost shouldn’t call for a formal recipe due to it’s ridiculous simplicity. It’s fragrant ginger and sweet, saltiness with the crunch of the green peas and egg coated rice reminds me of a trip down the streets of Tokyo. I have decided to share this with you in the hopes that you will make it at home.

My kids and I love this for breakfast. It is a whole lot better than boring peanut butter toast. Besides that it is also perfect for lunchboxes. I have been making school lunchboxes for 11 years now, and I am still waiting for my award. In all honesty the thought of making another school lunchbox sometimes makes me feel like setting my kitchen on fire. Especially if you are trying to make healthy ones, free from chips, chocolates and coke! It takes thought and time, which seem to be precious commodities in a mom’s busy life.

To save time I always like to cook extra rice so that I can make egg fried rice with ease the next day. It is very moreish. The only thing you need to worry about is eating too much of it. Apparently it’s a great hangover cure too. When I am hungry I want instant gratification and I am pleased to say that this takes 5 minutes to make. It is one of those meals that everyone should have in their repertoire.

Egg fried rice ingredients
Egg fried rice ingredients

Ingredients – Makes one serving.

  • 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil
  • 1 clove of finely chopped garlic
  • 1 teaspoon of ginger, grated or finely chopped – optional
  • 1 x chili, finely chopped – optional
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cups of rice, pre made, I prefer basmati rice.
  • 1/3 cup frozen peas
  • 1 tablespoon soya sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sweet chili sauce.

Recipe –

  • Fry the ginger, garlic and chili in the olive oil.
  • Crack the eggs into a separate bowl and whisk.
  • Pour the eggs into the hot pan and stir around, like making scrambled eggs.
  • IMG_1950
  • Before the eggs set add the rice. Stir and coat the rice with the egg mixture.
  • Add the frozen peas
  • IMG_1952
  • Add the soya and sweet chili.
  • Mix and cook until peas are warmed through.
  • Check for seasoning and add more soya/ sweet chili if needed
  • Grind on some black pepper
  • Eat!

IMG_1970

3 thoughts on “Egg Fried Rice

Leave a Reply

