The Intrepid Chef – Hi And Why

I get this butterfly feeling in my stomach as I realise this is my first real blog! I feel like the kid that has just arrived at her first day of school. Naive and not knowing what to expect. To be honest, I wanted to start this blog a long time ago. So I thought I would start off with a hello or in true South African style “howzit” and why I chose the name The Intrepid Chef for my blog. This is the story in a nutshell. Last year I went to work in an amazing restaurant kitchen called Cube tasting kitchen. The restaurant is cutting edge in food design,taste and somewhat experimental. Things like mozzarella bubbles, pear leather as well as basil caviar and coffee soil can be expected to appear on your plate. Cube tasting kitchen is very popular and the menu is a set 9 courses! Just to put the record straight I am a cook not a chef and have had no formal training. Now as you can imagine I was very nervous to work in a kitchen with highly skilled chefs but I put on my big girl pants and went to work. It was totally inspiring and I was humbled by the experience. They pretty much threw me in the deep end and even I surprised myself at how well I could swim. I helped with everything from the prep work to the final plating. I think the owner Darius, who is a genius with food and has a honed palate was impressed with me and decided to call me the intrepid chef for the evening … hang on a second, a complement of note! I thought it would be fitting to call this blog by the very compliment I received from one of the greatest chefs in town. Today I am proud to be the owner of D.KOS Unique Culinary Experience, Check it out on my web site http://www.dkos.co.za . I look forward to an amazing food journey with you all. That’s all from me for now.

Leave a Reply

